Epiphany on the road to Beaconsfield

You don’t expect to have a life revelation in the building society. Least of all when you only popped in to pay a tenner into the joint account which your phone had just informed you has gone overdrawn by £2.12. But nowadays actually spotting an open branch is a miracle in itself, so why waste the joy of speaking to an actual person?

It’s rare to find an example of good old customer service, but Nationwide seems to have nailed it. Having wandered in to make my deposit, I was intercepted by the branch manager who asked if I needed any help (forcing you to stare your encroaching old age straight in the eye, as you clearly look in need of it). Having explained my main mission, I also enquired about an account review and was assured this could happen immediately, if I had the time. It was then politely pointed out that crediting £10 to my Tesco points card was not the way to go.

I digress. Sitting down with her colleague to review my accounts, I finally convinced him that a few of the grey cells were still in working order as I actually had their app on my iPhone. And could use it (though I did mutter about the face recognition feature being slightly unnerving – does it still work if you’re dead?). Our conversation stepped up a level when he spotted my address:

“Is that on the A4? What was the name of that shopping place before it got taken over by Tesco?’

“The Bishops Centre. You could get an amazing breakfast back in the day.”

“I know, I used to have one every Saturday and Sunday,” (Really? It wasn’t that good).

We moved the conversation back on track by contemplating how to get an extra 1.25% interest (with the cost of living crisis, this is not to be sneezed at) and started to go through the motions (don’t ask). It was the drop down employment menu that got me. You needed to choose one, but I am three! Retired (well, I take my teacher pension); Employed Part Time; Self Employed. Which one do I choose? Employment sector and job role became the next challenge. Again, a flurry of potential ticks when you’re only allowed one. Does this make me the Queen of Multi-Task? Or a workaholic? When will I take a rest? It was this last thought that brought on the soul searching.

Until this morning, when I got the urge to write. There’s still time for another career, right?

This entry was posted in Anthology, Autobiography, career, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Epiphany on the road to Beaconsfield

  1. Paula says:

    Great, you never fail to make laugh, fantastic writing, go and get on with making a name for yourself. It’s never to late……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment