Splendid Truths

Using Buddhism as a basis, Gretchen came up with her Four Splendid Truths, which is basically her set of Golden Rules to live by. The title ‘Splendid Truth’ is a bit off putting even before I begin, but I do understand the theory behind it – come up with some key phrases which summarise what matters most to you about making your life happier. I’ve listed her ‘truths’ below, and full recognise that anyone foolish enough to be following this blog will probably stop reading right now. Bear with me!

Gretchen’s First Splendid Truth

To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.

Gretchen’s Second Splendid Truth

One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy; One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.

Gretchen’s Third Splendid Truth

The days are long, but the years are short.

Gretchen’s Fourth Splendid Truth

You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy. corollary: You’re happy if you think you’re happy.

So, the first task for my own Happiness Project is to come up with my own Splendid Truths (although I figure I might help myself to one or two of Gretchen’s). Somewhere buried within the same chapter of her own project, is the idea of having a symbol for each of these Truths. I love this idea! It gives me yet another excuse to buy more Trollbeads for my bracelet.

This entry was posted in My Happiness Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

