April Fool?

Attempt at background blur ...

 

 

April is a ‘light touch’ month. The plan is to lighten up and sing in the morning, amongst other ridiculous ideas.

No way will I be able to sing in the morning, but I guess I could work on ‘lightening up’. Maybe I have a tendency to take myself too seriously, as well as being prone to being a tad bit sensitive about criticism, so this is the month that I’m meant to work on both. Let’s get down to specifics:

Lighten up

Don’t take things to heart

Sing in the morning

Dance in the kitchen

Make happy family memories

Just five things to address (and I’ve already decided that I will, I promise I will, really truly will, sing loudly in assembly instead of allowing my tuneless warble to raise barely above a whisper. Bet they notice that! “AND DID THOSE FEET IN ANCIENT TIMES, WALK UPON ….”

Dancing in the kitchen is always a pleasure, providing I remember to actually do it, have a bottle of wine to hand, plus precisely the right music on the iPhone – Michael Jackson, Abba, Fleetwood Mac ‘The Chain’ . I realise I am showing my age, but one of my favourite ‘mum moments’ has to be whenever both my boys also start leaping around with me to ‘The Chain’ at the bit you are meant to start leaping around to. You know the bit I mean.  Must remember to organise that next time we Skype.

You’ll be delighted to know that making happy family memories is already underway folks. The Family Project has been started!

untitled

To exploit and enhance this far from simple fact, the Family Gardening Tea is well placed for this coming Easter Sunday so that aspects of The Project can be dotted around for the extended family to contribute to, in between completing Eve’s ever growing list of Straight Forward Gardening Tasks for the Grandchildren To Do (hope none of them read this blog – she’s now half way down the reverse of an A4 sheet).  I knew that gift I received at Christmas would have its uses – a natty little set of post it notes from a colleague entitled ‘You are so freaking organised’. A reputation for taking myself too seriously? Moi?

The most challenging task has to be developing a thicker skin, bullet proof to criticism – negative or so called constructive – happily able to roll with the punches. And whilst I realise some of my ardent blog fans (you know who you are) will be quick to point out the number of naff clichés I just managed to use in one mere sentence, never fear. I can cope! I am like Teflon, from now on, nothing sticks. (That has to be one of the worst clichés of all time, due to the harsh reality – it always bloomin’ well sticks.)

On that note, excuse me whilst I just go off to a quiet corner and weep.

This entry was posted in My Happiness Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April Fool?

  1. Paula Taylor says:

    I am sure you will address all five admirably, but please be gentle with the singing in the morning next week!

    Like

  2. Paulette says:

    The last time I saw you dancing in the kitchen, you had not touched a drop of wine. Dancing in the kitchen with my daughter is one of my favourite past times. The singing should be interesting x

    Like

Leave a Reply

